Tipler Founders’ Scholarship Award

George Tipler

George Tipler

In 2006-07 WSPRA instituted the George Tipler Founders’ Scholarship in honor of George Tipler, retired executive director of the Wisconsin Association of School Boards. The scholarship, a one-year membership to the National School Public Relations Association (NSPRA), recognizes Tipler’s contributions to the formation and growth of the Wisconsin School Public Relations Association.

Criteria for the scholarship are an individual who is currently a non-member of NSPRA, who has demonstrated a dedication to school public relations issues, and has exhibited a desire to grow professionally. The first recipient of the scholarship was selected by George Tipler.

George Tipler Nomination Form

Holtshopple Scholarship Award

Alan Holtshopple

Alan Holtshopple

To honor the memory of the late WSPRA board member, Alan Holtshopple, WSPRA offers a complimentary registration to WSPRA’s Annual Fall Conference in the form of the Holtshopple Scholarship.

Criteria for the scholarship are that the applicant must be a new WSPRA member within the last two years and that he/she is an individual who demonstrates community involvement. The board of directors reviews all applicants and selects the one best meeting the criteria. The scholarship is presented to the selected entrant at the fall conference.

Alan Holtshopple Scholarship Form

First-Timers’ Recognition

All first-time conference attendees receive a special gift from WSPRA at the annual fall conference.

Spectrum Awards

For a quarter of a century, Wisconsin School Public Relations Association has conducted its annual Spectrum Awards competition. The Spectrum Awards program is a statewide program for Wisconsin public education professionals involved in the writing and design of print and electronic materials and development of special projects. Members are invited to showcase their achievements, be recognized for their creativity and efforts, and receive valuable feedback from professionals who judge the entries. WSPRA members are mailed the Spectrum Award Entry Form or the form is available on the Web site starting in June of every year.

Find out more about our Spectrum Awards.

Friend of WSPRA Award

In promoting and modeling the value of strong partnerships, the WSPRA board of directors recognizes that it must take positive steps to show leadership in this area. The purpose of the Friend of WSPRA award is to recognize the individuals or organizations that have worked with WSPRA throughout the year and who are critical to the success of the WSPRA organization.

Honorary Lifetime Membership

As part of its membership structure, Wisconsin School Public Relations Association honors retired members for their contributions to WSPRA, public relations, and education in general. When appropriate, the board of directors selects an individual(s) for this honor and provides them with lifetime memberships in WSPRA. 

Past-President’s Award

Each year the WSPRA past-president selects one individual to honor. This individual is someone who has provided particular assistance to the president during his/her term of office. The individual is honored at the fall conference and receives a recognition gift.

All Award Recipients to Date

Spectrum Award Winners